What American Sweets Are Vegan Friendly?
Browse Our Vegan American sweets
For the last 10 years or more, it appears that 'vegan' and 'veganism' has been social buzzwords. All you have to do is browse the internet to find glowing reviews of this lifestyle choice in combination with endorsements from celebrities and social media influencers. Previously, you would have been forgiven if you thought it was a fad or a fleeting trend. However, this couldn't be further from the truth with surveys suggesting rapid growth, 40% increase in the number of vegans to 1.5 million in 2020.
It is very apparent that veganism is here to stay and will only become more popular, as Sainsbury's predicted that vegans and vegetarians will represent a quarter of the UK population. This is a trend that can be seen all over the world, so there is no surprise that companies have adjusted their products to suit the growing majority.
If you're not looking to indulge yourself with reading this blog and you're simply just wanting to find out what sweets are vegan friendly. Then feel free to browse our collection of vegan friendly American sweets.
Luckily enough, Twizzlers are vegan, as they don't contain any gelatine or any ingredients that harm any animals. Twizzlers first arrived on the scene in 1929 and has been a staple in popular culture ever since. What makes them even sweeter is that they come in various flavours, such as, strawberry smoothie, cherry, watermelon among others.
You don't need to be a genius or a so called 'nerd,' to know that these are great tasting sweets. Due to the brand's use of different colourings, which contain carmine, not all flavours are vegan. However, the Watermelon& Cherry, Big Chewy Nerds and finally Sour Big Chewy Nerds are vegan friendly, with the latter containing an assortment of flavours. So you will not be missing out on much.
Sour Patch Kids
Buy Sour Patch Kids
Since its introduction in the 1980s, this brand has made waves throughout America and the world for its wide variety of candies and sweets. They have become even more popular with their stance on veganism, ensuring that none of their goodies do not contain any gelatine. Furthermore, they have a range of flavours for you to pick from, such as watermelon, tropical and even peach.
Buy Swedish Fish
As we have mentioned before, the name isn't as imaginative as the former, you can easily trace the brand's beginnings. However, the flavour certainly leaves a lot to imagination as the OGs are mysterious and hasn't been disclosed. What makes them even better is the fact that they are gelatine free and completely vegan friendly.
As one of the most versatile of the American sweets, not just in form, they're very flexible. You can bend them in various shapes. To match their metallic, vibrant colours, there are a whole host of flavours to boot, from grape to watermelon. However, it is important to note that the candy bars are vegan, whereas, other versions of Airheads are not (Gummies, Bites, Gums, Soft-Filled Bites).